Luxury Car

Morris III Scores On Evening One In Watsonville

Morris III Scores On Evening One In Watsonville

It was the opening evening of the Pat and Jim Pettit Memorial Shootout at Ocean Speedway. (High Dawg photograph)

WATSONVILLE, Calif. — The opening evening of the Pat and Jim Pettit Memorial Shootout at Ocean Speedway noticed a younger winner earn one in every of their career-best performances, with Troy Morris III claiming the 33-lap IMCA modified win.

Cale Kanke and three-time monitor champion Rob Gallaher additionally earned wins throughout the Friday evening portion of the twelfth annual occasion. There have been 114 automobiles in motion throughout the IMCA modified, sport modified and pastime inventory divisions.

Morris drove across the outdoors of 2020 and 2021 Ocean champion Cody Burke at first of the function for the lead. Tim Balding stopped in flip 4 for a warning on lap 4. Morris encountered important lapped site visitors on lap 14 with three-wide motion in entrance of him.

It boiled over into flip one with automobiles bouncing all around the monitor. Les Good friend was hit onerous by Matthew Hagio, sending Hagio airborne into flip one. Each drivers had been eradicated from the occasion. JC Elrod additionally had contact and later dropped out from the race on lap 21.

Future Corridor of Famer Bobby Hogge IV broke free from the pack to drive from his fifth beginning place into second. He tried a crossover cross on Morris on a number of events in a good battle.

Morris by no means surrendered, incomes the numerous victory.

Hogge settled for second adopted by Burke. Former monitor champion Brian Cass was the Onerous Charger with a drive from fifteenth to fourth, adopted by Andy Obertello in fifth. 

A late surge from Cale Kanke earned him the 23-lap IMCA sport modified win after a marathon race with purple flags and warning flags. Markus Frazier led the opening lap earlier than a warning for particles. Brent Curran went outdoors of him to guide lap three.

Troy Morris, Jr. spun in flip three and practically collected Kanke, requiring an extra yellow.

The wildest second of the evening got here on the restart when a three-wide collision on the entrance stretch swallowed up Ethan Killingsworth. He flipped wildly facet over facet in a tangle with Andrew Peckham and suffered onerous hits from Kenny Shrader and KC Keller. Killingsworth was unhurt.

A four-car fender bender introduced out a warning on the following try at a restart.

Kanke challenged Mark Garner for second, taking the place on the skin on lap 13. Ryan Smith slowed on the highest of flip two for a yellow on lap 17. Kanke challenged Curran for the lead a number of instances over the ultimate six laps.

Kanke drove round Curran on the skin to guide lap 21 and Andrew Pearce adopted him into second. Kanke, the 2021 Pettit Shootout winner, scored the win over Pearce, Curran, Fred Ryland and Tyler Blankenship. 

Three-time Ocean Speedway pastime inventory champion Gallaher returned to the speedway and to victory lane after a 23-lap function. DJ Keldsen led the way in which from the pole place. Second-starting Taylor DeCarlo and third-starting Bobby Motts had been every a part of cautions within the early levels.

John Tevis stopped in flip one for a warning on lap six. Gallaher seized the chance to drive outdoors of Keldsen for the lead on lap eight. Kodie Dean hit the backstretch wall whereas working within the top-five on lap eight, whereas a multi-car spin occurred concurrently in flip one.

Gallaher drove to a 2.883 second victory over Keldsen, Ryan Hart, Mark Cooper and Clarence Holbrook. 

IMCA Modified Characteristic (33 Laps)

1. 07X-Troy Morris III[2]; 2. 2-Bobby Hogge IV[5]; 3. 20-Cody Burke[1]; 4. 55-Brian Cass[15]; 5. 29-Andy Obertello[9]; 6. 17-Nick DeCarlo[10]; 7. 49-Troy Foulger[11]; 8. 29C-Aaron Crowell[7]; 9. 4X-Anthony Slaney[16]; 10. 6-Jim Pettit II[6]; 11. 77D-Cole Dick[8]; 12. 28K-Chester Kniss[17]; 13. 50-Michael Paul Jr[13]; 14. 66-Kevin Pendergrass[20]; 15. 22G-Paul Guglielmoni[12]; 16. 7-Chris Crompe[21]; 17. 84X-JC Elrod[14]; 18. 1-Shawn Natenstedt[4]; 19. 168-Bo Crebs[3]; 20. 92-Les Good friend[19]; 21. 14H-Matthew Hagio[22]; 22. 1B-Tim Balding[18]

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button